UK Championship 2015

The UK Rubik’s Cube Championship 2015 took place on 7-8th November 2015 at The Forum, Stevenage.

Robert Yau is the new UK Champion, winning with an average of 9.38 seconds. Sameer Mahmood finished 2nd with 9.41 and Breandan Vallance 3rd with 9.52.

The competition was organised by Daniel Sheppard, James Molloy, Billy Jeffs, Adam Greenwood, Zak Walters, Ollie Frost and Robert Yau.

2015 UK Champions

Rubik’s Cube: Robert Yau
4x4x4: Robert Yau
5x5x5: Breandan Vallance
2x2x2: Ben Whitmore
3x3x3 Blindfolded: Oliver Forst
3x3x3 One-Handed: Alexander Lau
3x3x3 Fewest Moves: Daniel Sheppard
3x3x3 With Feet: Callum Hales-Jepp
Megaminx: Robert Yau
Pyraminx: Luke Hubbard
Square-1: Simon Crawford
Rubik’s Clock: Daniel Sheppard
Skewb: Harry Savage
6x6x6: Robert Yau
7x7x7: Sameer Mahmood
4x4x4 Blindfolded: Callum Hales-Jepp
3x3x3 Multiple Blindfolded: Callum Hales-Jepp

Records and Results

The full results can be found here

Breandan Vallance set new European Records for 5x5x5 Single and Average with 52.21 seconds and 59.51 seconds respectively.
Simon Crawford set a new European Record for Square-1 Average with 11.22 seconds.

In addition, the following UK National Records were set:
3x3x3 With Feet Mean: Callum Hales-Jepp – 42.89 seconds
Skewb Single: Eli Jay – 2.21 seconds
7x7x7 Single: Robert Yau – 3:08.74
7x7x7 Average: Sameer Mahmood – 3:15.37

Conor Cronin set 9 African Records
Jesse Tipton set 2 African Records
Ciarán Beahan set 5 Irish Records
Sanzar Haiwad set 2 Afghan Records

3x3x3 Champions

2006 Dan Harris – 15.87
2007 Thom Barlow – 16.57
2008 Breandan Vallance – 13.97
2009 Breandan Vallance – 11.17
2010 Breandan Vallance – 10.57
2011 Breandan Vallance – 9.48
2012 Alexander Lau – 9.24
2013 Thom Barlow – 10.64
2014 Alexander Lau – 9.02
2015 Robert Yau – 9.38


Positions shown are for UK competitors only.

Rubik’s Cube

1. Robert Yau (9.38)
2. Sameer Mahmood (9.41)
3. Breandan Vallance (9.57)

With the “new guard” of UK cubing surprisingly all failing to reach the final, it was left to the old-timers to battle it out. The penultimate pairing of Robert Yau and Sameer Mahmood set the benchmark for the final pairing of 2009 World Champion Breandan Vallance and current European and UK Champion Alex Lau. However, a +2 on the first solve ultimately cost Alex Lau the victory and Breandan could not quite overhaul the averages already set, leaving Robert Yau to finally claim his first UK title.

Honorable mention to Ciarán Beahan who set an excellent Irish NR average of 8.45 seconds in the final


1. Robert Yau (35.11)
2. Sameer Mahmood (36.42)
3. Daniel Sheppard (40.81)

This event went as predicted, with the inventor of the most popular method taking his 5th UK 4×4 title, dethroning Sameer, who was the surprise 2014 winner.


1. Breandan Vallance (1:01.20)
2. Robert Yau (1:08.73)
3. Sameer Mahmood (1:11.55)

The highlights of this event were undoubtedly in the first round, as Breandan Vallance regained the 5x5x5 European Record Single with 53.37 and then bettered it on the very next solve with 52.21. He went on to record a new European Record Average of 59.51 seconds. Another impressive performance followed in the final to seal his 4th consecutive 5×5 title and 7th in total.


1. Ben Whitmore (2.88)
2. Sameer Mahmood (3.13)
3. Robert Yau (3.51)

In an unpredictable event, it was Ben Whitemore who came out on top after Sameer blew his chance on the last 2 solves. This meant he regains the title he last won in 2009!

3x3x3 Blindfolded

1. Oliver Frost (32.75)
2. Callum Hales-Jepp (55.13)
3. Daniel Sheppard (59.02)

The clear favourite and NR holder Oliver Frost overcame illness to post an excellent 32.75 seconds solve to retain his title. The last scramble provided all the medals, as Callum and Daniel went sub-1. Daniel was especially happy with his respectable Mean and can now give up his yearly 3bld tradition.

3x3x3 One-Handed

1. Alexander Lau (16.87)
2. Sameer Mahmood (17.72)
3. Robert Yau (18.00)

With all the medal contenders not performing up to expectations, this was a disappointing event result-wise, although Alex will be happy to have won his first OH title.

3x3x3 Fewest Moves

1. Daniel Sheppard (27)
2. Thom Barlow (30)
3. Simon Crawford (33)

The first time that Fewest Moves has been held at the UK Championship resulted in a victory for the favourite – Daniel Sheppard. Behind him, Thom and Simon were the surprise medalists.

3x3x3 With Feet

1. Callum Hales-Jepp (42.89)
2. Robert Yau (1:00.37)
3. Daniel Sheppard (1:05.59)

Making amends for last year’s disaster, Callum improved his own NR average and came very close to the single as well in a dominant performance ahead of Robert and Daniel.


1. Robert Yau (59.58)
2. Chris Wall (1:03.64)
3. Daniel Sheppard (1:07.01)

A small surprise here as National Record holder Chris Wall could not produce the expected times and Robert Yau took advantage to regain the title he last won in 2012.


1. Luke Hubbard (4.28)
2. Harry Savage (4.37)
3. Chris Mills (5.24)

A very open and unpredictable event saw former NR holder Luke Hubbard return to claim his 4th consecutive title. Harry Savage and Chris Mills took the other podium places, while current NR holder Daniel Sheppard crashed out with 2 DNFs.


1. Simon Crawford (11.22)
2. Daniel Sheppard (18.31)
3. Ben Whitmore (21.22)

While the winner of this event was never going to be in doubt, Simon won his 6th consecutive title in style, breaking his own 3-year-old European Record average. The newly-released hardware has no doubt had a major effect, with Daniel breaking a 4-year-old PB for 2nd place and several others producing excellent times.

Rubik’s Clock

1. Daniel Sheppard (8.61)
2. James Molloy (8.71)
3. Callum Hales-Jepp (9.71)

A traditionally strong event for the UK failed to live up to expectations, with Daniel taking his 4th clock title in a rather disappointing 8.61. Ryan Jones perhaps came closest to producing something special, but his 2 sub-6 efforts ended as DNFs.


1. Harry Savage (4.53)
2. Eli Jay (5.48)
3. Sohan Dhanak (5.63)

Another fairly open event resulted in a first UK title for Harry Savage. Eli Jay took 2nd place and also set a new UK NR single of 2.21 in the process. Sohan Dhanak won his first UK medal in 3rd place.


1. Robert Yau (2:22.38)
2. Sameer Mahmood (2:22.85)
3. Callum Hales-Jepp (2:58.85)

An extremely close battle went in favour of Robert Yau by just half a second a series of failures behind them handed Callum the 3rd place. Special mention to a brilliant 1:52 single by Evan Liu.


1. Sameer Mahmood (3:15.37)
2. Robert Yau (3:20.93)
3. Daniel Sheppard (4:27.33)

Another close battle between Robert and Sameer went to the latter this time around, breaking his own NR average in the process. With both of them beating the NR single on solve 2, Robert Yau now has the record by 0.07 seconds.

4x4x4 Blindfolded

1. Callum Hales-Jepp (5:45.21)
2. Mark Rivers (24:26.00)

With WR holder Oliver Frost not able to set a time, surprise European Champion Callum Hales-Jepp added the UK title this time around. Mark Rivers was ecstatic to get a success and was rewarded with 2nd place.

5x5x5 Blindfolded

No successes for UK competitors, but visiting Belgian Manu Vereecken at least provided something to cheer about here with with a success.

3x3x3 Multiple Blindfolded

1. Callum Hales-Jepp (12/12 43:16)
2. Bertie Longden (8/9 43:11)
3. Zak Walters (5/6 28:40)

Callum Hales-Jepp showed his accuracy with a perfect 12 cube attempt, while Bertie and Zak won their first UK Championship medals behind him.